International Studies & Programs



Back to News
2015 Midwest Slavic Association Student Essay Prize Competition

Published: Tuesday, 10 Mar 2015
Author: Nicholas William Adkins
Department: Center for European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies

The Midwest Slavic Association, with support from the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ASEEES), is now welcoming submissions for its annual student essay prize competition for undergraduate and graduate students. Interested students can submit a paper on any topic related to Slavic, East European, and Eurasian studies to the Midwest Slavic Association for consideration. The best undergraduate paper received will win a one-year membership to ASEEES, and the graduate winner will receive a one-year membership to ASEEES, as well as being considered then for the ASEEES Student Essay Prize at the national level.
The graduate winner of the ASEEES Student Essay Prize at the national level wins travel, lodging, and registration for the Annual ASEEES Convention and membership for the following year. The prize will be presented during the awards presentation at the Annual Convention.
Undergraduate essay submissions can be a variety of formats, including: conference paper, thesis, course paper, or article. They should be no longer than 20 double-spaced pages including notes and bibliography.
Graduate essay submissions can be of several formats: expanded versions of conference papers, graduate level seminar papers, Master's thesis chapters, or dissertation chapters. The student should indicate what type of paper they are submitting and provide an abstract. Essays should have a minimum word count of 7,500 and a maximum word count of 14,000 (25 to 50 pages approximately) inclusive of footnotes and bibliography. Submissions must be double-spaced and include footnotes or endnotes. Please visit ASEEES' website for full information on the national level competition.
All submissions must be submitted via email to Brian Baer at bbaer(at) The deadline is Thursday, April 30, 2015. Notifications of awards will be sent out by Monday, June 1, 2015.